Custom Map: Cache

Started by AutoPost, June 17, 2010, 08:09:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AutoPost

This topic is for discussion of map: Cache

Author: Vile

Desc:
The Creeper's trapped you in a cave. You don't have time to build new stuff (and your schematics database is hosed again). Use what you find, but replacements cannot be made.

Vile

Any feedback on this one?  I'm fairly new to map-making, but I thought this one played very well after play-testing it probably 30-40 times.

cquante

Quote from: Vile on June 18, 2010, 01:43:55 PM
Any feedback on this one?  I'm fairly new to map-making, but I thought this one played very well after play-testing it probably 30-40 times.

I usually avoid maps that have too much pre-built, and maps that have too much wall.  Yours has both.  Having said that, once I was into the map I found the limited resources to be an interesting idea.  The walls still were an issue.  Anytime someone uses that much wall in a map, you can almost count on a long dull wait while the creeper eats it's way through.  I'm your average player.  I got the blasters, then the reactors, and then the mortars, and marched my way down the corridor toward the creeper.  I did all that in less than seven minutes.  Unfortunately once I reached the end of the corridor there was no way to go further until the  creeper eats through the wall.  Boring for an average player.  Now I see from the score board that it can be finished in seven minutes or so, but it either isn't obvious, or uses skills I don't currently have.  If this was one of my maps, my suggestion would be to make relay tech reachable just inside the creeper territory, or provide a stepping stone (a spot you can place a collector) just reachable in the creeper area, and only reachable after the mortars have blasted back the creeper a bit.

Good luck with your map making.

Vile