Score submittal after lost internet connection

UpperKEES · 5667

UpperKEES

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 5525
  • The Creeper is getting deeper.... into me.
on: July 12, 2010, 06:16:34 pm
As we all know you can only submit your score once; normally this should be enough.

In some cases however the score submittal fails and there's no way to send it again. Internet connection problems are often the cause:
- Provider problems
- Wireless network interference
- Modem failure
- Laptop's network adapter goes into powersave mode
- Or you just forgot to connect....

Checking your connection before clicking 'SUBMIT' (switch to browser with Alt-TAB and refresh) will help most of the time, but you can't expect people to do so all the time. Wouldn't it be possible for the submit function to check for success and try again in case of failure? You'll often see that submitting the score itself activates the connection, but at that moment it's too late for the first attempt.
« Last Edit: July 12, 2010, 10:37:59 pm by UpperKEES »

My CW1 maps: downloads - overview
My CW2 maps: downloads - overview


Karsten75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 6844
Reply #1 on: July 12, 2010, 06:39:03 pm
This would be a really nice feature for the final update to CW....

"Any leftover cabbage can and will be mixed with mayo"
   - Cole's Law


UpperKEES

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 5525
  • The Creeper is getting deeper.... into me.
Reply #2 on: July 12, 2010, 07:19:20 pm
I know Fisherck suffered from this at least 6 times and Sqaz experienced it today.

My CW1 maps: downloads - overview
My CW2 maps: downloads - overview


Fisherck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2072
  • There is always a bigger fish...
Reply #3 on: July 13, 2010, 10:38:10 am
Yes. every time I submit a score, I reconnect to the internet before doing it, just to be sure.
Exspecially when playing UpperKEE'S maps. There hard enough to do once :) (let alone 4 times :o).
But, since making sure the internet is connected, I have not had a problem. Or, at least when
submitting a score for a map. I have not submitted a map for a while, so I do not know about that.
Having that feature sure could save people (including me) that problem.

My CW2 Maps
My CW1 Maps
The comments are here to comment, dare to use them.


Fisherck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2072
  • There is always a bigger fish...
Reply #4 on: July 17, 2010, 09:25:08 am
I submitted a map last night, City Bombing and made sure the internet was connected when I submitted the score for it, and the score came through! So, so far reconnecting to the internet has worked for submitting scores and maps.

My CW2 Maps
My CW1 Maps
The comments are here to comment, dare to use them.


Blaze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2391
  • Busy busy busy.
Reply #5 on: July 18, 2010, 01:37:26 am
I'm always connected.
So I have never had a problem with anything like this.


Fisherck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2072
  • There is always a bigger fish...
Reply #6 on: July 18, 2010, 08:52:34 am
"At home" I am always connected too, but part of the problem is I have a labtop, and it can go into powersave mode. So it's better safe then sorry for me :).

My CW2 Maps
My CW1 Maps
The comments are here to comment, dare to use them.


Karsten75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 6844
Reply #7 on: July 18, 2010, 11:13:21 am
Perhaps even some way to indicate that a score upload was attempted, and if it failed, then perhaps the score upload can be done again.

"Any leftover cabbage can and will be mixed with mayo"
   - Cole's Law


UpperKEES

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 5525
  • The Creeper is getting deeper.... into me.
Reply #8 on: July 19, 2010, 08:57:12 am
Perhaps even some way to indicate that a score upload was attempted, and if it failed, then perhaps the score upload can be done again.

Yeah, that would be nice.

My CW1 maps: downloads - overview
My CW2 maps: downloads - overview


Echo51

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1139
  • Always lurking in chat, just not always aware
Reply #9 on: July 19, 2010, 12:53:08 pm
Macbook's seem to have same powersaving feautures, even when plugged in... so be aware :P



Considering to write a little "keep alive" program that will keep the internet from going into powersave or so?

Join the chat! :D
- The only echo present here...


UpperKEES

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 5525
  • The Creeper is getting deeper.... into me.
Reply #10 on: July 19, 2010, 01:45:00 pm
In most cases you can prevent your network adapter from going into power save mode. Just create a custom power save scheme.

My CW1 maps: downloads - overview
My CW2 maps: downloads - overview


Echo51

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1139
  • Always lurking in chat, just not always aware
Reply #11 on: July 19, 2010, 04:33:29 pm
Heh, not that important to me really :P

Join the chat! :D
- The only echo present here...


Karsten75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 6844
Reply #12 on: July 19, 2010, 05:50:40 pm
Macbook's seem to have same powersaving feautures, even when plugged in... so be aware :P



Considering to write a little "keep alive" program that will keep the internet from going into powersave or so?

In most cases you can prevent your network adapter from going into power save mode. Just create a custom power save scheme.

Heh, not that important to me really :P



"Any leftover cabbage can and will be mixed with mayo"
   - Cole's Law


Blaze

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2391
  • Busy busy busy.
Reply #13 on: July 20, 2010, 12:58:30 am
Macbook's seem to have same powersaving feautures, even when plugged in... so be aware :P



Considering to write a little "keep alive" program that will keep the internet from going into powersave or so?

In most cases you can prevent your network adapter from going into power save mode. Just create a custom power save scheme.

Heh, not that important to me really :P




Win.


Echo51

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1139
  • Always lurking in chat, just not always aware
Reply #14 on: July 20, 2010, 03:53:07 am

Join the chat! :D
- The only echo present here...