Placing enemy ships

Started by Dark Ambition, December 20, 2016, 04:44:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dark Ambition

I'm still trying to learn how to make maps and stuff, and I want my next map to have these enemy ships in it and three of them to be stations arranged in a nice looking way kinda like they're connected.

Spoiler
[close]

But I can't figure out how to move these stations into the position I want them in. I put these ships in the licence manager and built them as my own ships to show how I want them to look
Spoiler
[close]

I don't know how to get them to get in that position, I can't directly move them like I can with my ships sooo... :(
halp

Before anyone mocks me for not knowing something as simple as moving these ships, understand that I am a complete noob at this. I've never done anything like this before, so basics are greek to me.

(Whimpers...)

GoodMorning

There are a few things that you can do.

1. Build the ship, set a patrol waypoint (at the Spawner), then drag it around until the ship follows it into place. This works exactly once, at the start of the map.

2. Set a single waypoint and place the spawn point elsewhere, and lt the ship turn on the way.

3. PRPL a script to get enemy ship bridges spawned, and use that to warp them to precisely where you want them. This may drop them on player ships. Alternatively, rotate them after they arrive.

The third is hardest, the others may affect the balance of the map. Your decision.
A narrative is a lightly-marked path to another reality.

Keeper Decagon

This is the reason why I put a thread in the Suggestions part of the forum, with the suggestion "to be able to move AI ships by hand in the Editor just like you can with normal ships". Though nobody has even noticed or acknowledged the thread, to my knowledge.

Suggestions thread