Run script when egg popped

Started by safewayshopper, April 22, 2022, 01:43:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

safewayshopper

Hi,

I just started learning how to script for Creeper World 4 to make a silly map idea, but I can't figure out quite how to get it to work.

I want to run a script when a specific egg is popped. I'm pre-populating the map with the egg in the editor with
CreateEgg(V3(64 6 64) <-initData) ->egg
Then I would like to register a function to that egg's Destroyed callback, so I can make something happen once the player pops it.

After looking over the documentation I wasn't able to find any functions in the API that allow this kind of dynamic callback registration.

Next I looked into making the special egg as a CPACK. Since I am not familiar with creating CPACKs, it seems like it would be a lot of work to configure all the custom unit settings to just recreate the existing behavior of the egg. I want my special egg to be indistinguishable to normal eggs in the game. The egg model and textures weren't in the stock model selector, so it seems like I would have to extract those files from the Creeper World game files and import and configure them for my custom unit.

I guess as a different workaround, I could just not include anything on the map that creates eggs, and use a global script to check for the number of eggs on the map every frame, or every few frames, and then trigger my function when there are 0 eggs left. This seems kind of wasteful, and constrains my map design options quite a bit, but I think it would be theoretically possible with the scripting API.

Let me know if you have any advice. I appreciate any efforts to help me create my SPECIAL EGG.

P.S. While messing around, I tried to create an egg with CreateUnit("egg" V3(64 6 64) <-initData) ->egg, instead of using CreateEgg. This resulted in a bug/strange behavior where an "airsacbubble" was created instead of an egg. Not a problem, just thought it was interesting.

knucracker