Main Menu

forum making

Started by ontheworld, August 08, 2010, 02:07:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ontheworld

how is this forum made? I want to make my own one.

SPIFFEN

If you scroll to the bottom of the page , you should see an link to it .
PLZ THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU CALL YOUR TOPIC ! It will make the search work better =)
My maps : http://knucklecracker.com/creeperworld/viewmaps.php?author=SPIFFEN
How to make links

Karsten75

Simple Machines Forums. I'm an admin of a few, let me know if you need help.

ontheworld

thanks, i'll go look

EDIT: is it right that i need to make a site in order to get a forum? i really don't understand this all.

yup, i'm kind of a big newb

ontheworld

the more i read out there the more stupid i feel for not getting it... :-[

Karsten75

You need:
1. A domain name that you register with a domain name registrar. This runs you between $12 and $20 a year.

2. a web hosting company. There is a place called nfshost.com that is nearly free.  :)  Otherwise there are a number of  hosting sites. If you have a low-traffic site you can PM me and I"ll send you a link for a $4/month host site.

On this site you need to learn  cpanel to administer your site and forum

Then you download the SMF package, install it on the web site and you are in business.

Then you start a never-ending fight against spambots trying to take over your forum.

Twi

You know, there are programs designed to stop that...
Currently watching: ARIA, Dog Days, and other unlikely things.
And some likely things, too!

Karsten75

Quote from: Twi on August 08, 2010, 04:20:20 PM
You know, there are programs designed to stop that...

Of course. But you still have to install recaptcha  scripts, watch out for the Flash vulnerabilities and stop manual spammers from signing up just to have their links in the member lists. To name just a few problems.

Look in these forums and you will see how many registrations happen just to have link signatures. Zero posts.

ontheworld