Knuckle Cracker

Creeper World 4 => Support for Creeper World 4 => Topic started by: Argonwolf on December 14, 2020, 07:37:34 pm

Title: Building appearing on maps I edit
Post by: Argonwolf on December 14, 2020, 07:37:34 pm
There's this weird little office-building prop that keeps appearing at the origin point of custom maps that I edit 4RPL scripts on. Saving and reloading the map gets rid of it so it's not a huge problem, I just don't know why it's there. Can someone explain what it is please?
Title: Re: Building appearing on maps I edit
Post by: Karsten75 on December 14, 2020, 08:06:26 pm
I have just made it so that you can upload a .cw4 save file. Upload yours and I'll have a look. :)

Also, did you start with a save from another map or ... ?
Title: Re: Building appearing on maps I edit
Post by: Argonwolf on December 14, 2020, 09:57:36 pm
The thing is it disappears if I save and reload the map, and it's usually more than an hour into an edit session that it appears. So you'd probably have to sit and watch one of my maps for an hour, and even then I can't guarantee it'll show up because in non-scripted maps it never did.

I can't ask you to sit around waiting for a random prop to show up that might never even appear. It doesn't negatively affect my editing, I just thought maybe somebody would know what was up and could tell me why it's there. Honestly I thought maybe it was an Easter egg, but if you don't immediately know what it is then it's probably not that.

I start all my maps from scratch, so I wouldn't know if it appears when modifying existing ones.
Title: Re: Building appearing on maps I edit
Post by: eduran on December 15, 2020, 02:52:30 am
I've seen this thing appear on cell 0,0 a few times, too. As stated, it goes away on save/reload and it only ever appeared on maps that I was using 4rpl on.
Title: Re: Building appearing on maps I edit
Post by: knucracker on December 15, 2020, 09:55:20 am
That's visual clutter from the models when you bring up the model browser. It's visual only and I should have it fixed in 1.0.1. It's been low priority since it is just visual and goes away after a save/load (and only appears when you bring up the model browser when editing a custom unit).  This is the github bug entry for it: https://github.com/KnuckleCracker/CW4-bug-tracker/issues/356
Title: Re: Building appearing on maps I edit
Post by: Argonwolf on December 15, 2020, 02:16:27 pm
That's visual clutter from the models when you bring up the model browser. It's visual only and I should have it fixed in 1.0.1. It's been low priority since it is just visual and goes away after a save/load (and only appears when you bring up the model browser when editing a custom unit).  This is the github bug entry for it: https://github.com/KnuckleCracker/CW4-bug-tracker/issues/356

That makes perfect sense, thanks for letting me know! I really did think it was an Easter egg at first, haha. Thanks again! :D