A Fast Forward Feature

Shroom Agent 27 · 4095

Shroom Agent 27

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 198
on: May 26, 2011, 07:04:05 pm
Like CW, I think that a Fast Forward button would be a good idea. Just to save time in long battles.

EDIT: Fixed Spelling
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 07:39:53 pm by Shroom Agent 27 »



Ebon Heart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2460
  • I'm back. For now. Hi guys!
Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 07:09:59 pm
same here! maybe double, and quadruple speed this time? for people with slow computers? On cw1, I had to play double speed just to play the game at a normal speed.

When the going gets tough, the tough get going. The smart left a long time ago.
Check out the amazing A Tragedy Forgotten CW2 map series!


mthw2vc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1014
Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 07:25:11 pm
Such a feature would be impossible for CW2. Unlike in CW1, the majority of the CPU load comes from updating the creeper array, firing weapons, etc, and not rendering. By forcing the game to render fewer frames than it would normally, you not only get choppier animation, but the performance gains are insubstantial.



CobraKill

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1057
  • It's been a while.
Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 07:28:09 pm
same here! maybe double, and quadruple speed this time? for people with slow computers? On cw1, I had to play double speed just to play the game at a normal speed.

Ughhhh! I can never find the Fast Foward button on CW  ??? Any help XD. I wish there was a 2x, 4x overspeed just like makers

Never trust a computer that doesn't fit through your nearest window.


Shroom Agent 27

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 198
Reply #4 on: May 26, 2011, 07:40:51 pm
Such a feature would be impossible for CW2. Unlike in CW1, the majority of the CPU load comes from updating the creeper array, firing weapons, etc, and not rendering. By forcing the game to render fewer frames than it would normally, you not only get choppier animation, but the performance gains are insubstantial.

So, that would make the game run faster than it was designed to be, and degrade game quality?



Ebon Heart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2460
  • I'm back. For now. Hi guys!
Reply #5 on: May 26, 2011, 09:54:27 pm
hmm... oh well. idc about graphics. And for cw1, all you need to do is press the up key.

When the going gets tough, the tough get going. The smart left a long time ago.
Check out the amazing A Tragedy Forgotten CW2 map series!


Fisherck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 2072
  • There is always a bigger fish...
Reply #6 on: May 26, 2011, 09:57:59 pm
It is more complicated than that. Basically, it already runs on double speed...

Ughhhh! I can never find the Fast Foward button on CW  ??? Any help XD. I wish there was a 2x, 4x overspeed just like makers

They are the arrow keys on your keyboard. Up to go fast, dow to go slow... :)

« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 08:56:08 am by Fisherck »

My CW2 Maps
My CW1 Maps
The comments are here to comment, dare to use them.


CobraKill

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1057
  • It's been a while.
Reply #7 on: May 26, 2011, 10:12:49 pm
Wow XD thanks fishrek

Never trust a computer that doesn't fit through your nearest window.


thepenguin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3038
  • "What if ..."
Reply #8 on: May 27, 2011, 06:47:47 am
Such a feature would be impossible for CW2. Unlike in CW1, the majority of the CPU load comes from updating the creeper array, firing weapons, etc, and not rendering. By forcing the game to render fewer frames than it would normally, you not only get choppier animation, but the performance gains are insubstantial.

insubstantial??

I wonder if you've forgotten the render 1/ frames button.

just go to options and turn off "full rate screen updates" (or something like that)

We have become the creeper...


ontheworld

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 773
Reply #9 on: May 27, 2011, 09:39:54 am
Such a feature would be impossible for CW2. Unlike in CW1, the majority of the CPU load comes from updating the creeper array, firing weapons, etc, and not rendering. By forcing the game to render fewer frames than it would normally, you not only get choppier animation, but the performance gains are insubstantial.
insubstantial??
I wonder if you've forgotten the render 1/ frames button.
just go to options and turn off "full rate screen updates" (or something like that)
That still only gets slow computers a little bit more FPS, nothing along the lines of DS could be obtained with it



mthw2vc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1014
Reply #10 on: May 27, 2011, 10:00:39 am
Such a feature would be impossible for CW2. Unlike in CW1, the majority of the CPU load comes from updating the creeper array, firing weapons, etc, and not rendering. By forcing the game to render fewer frames than it would normally, you not only get choppier animation, but the performance gains are insubstantial.

insubstantial??

I wonder if you've forgotten the render 1/ frames button.

just go to options and turn off "full rate screen updates" (or something like that)
I haven't forgotten that button (I thought it had been removed until I just checked a few moments ago). In fact, that was exactly what I was referencing. Insubstantial, without substance, its effects are too small to be of any serious benefit on any CPU-intensive map. In my experience, it's about the difference between 17 and 18 FPS.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 10:03:23 am by mthw2vc »



thepenguin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 3038
  • "What if ..."
Reply #11 on: May 27, 2011, 04:38:20 pm
In my experience, it's about the difference between 17 and 18 FPS.

In my experience, double speed (wow, what does this say about my graphics card?)

We have become the creeper...


Grauniad

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
    • Posts: 7365
Reply #12 on: May 27, 2011, 04:41:04 pm
In my experience, it's about the difference between 17 and 18 FPS.

In my experience, double speed (wow, what does this say about my graphics card?)

Not much, it says more about your processor. AIR does not use graphics cards extensively until the more recent cards with different instruction sets. In older systems it is CPU bound. Which is why Virgil posted the "How many cores in your computer" poll.

A goodnight to all and to all a good night - Goodnight Moon