Building buildings before the game starts (bug)

Siccles · 6099

Siccles

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 170
on: January 04, 2010, 02:05:14 pm
When pressing (for example) 1 for building collectors before the textbox appears, its possible to place (AND build) them before the creeper starts growing.

This might explain some unbeleiveable scores in the highscores

Mfg
Siccles



Mrmcdeath

  • Iím gonna live forever, or die trying.
  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 301
Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 02:28:59 pm
Wow... I never knew that.

Life Lesson #1
When life gives you lemons make lemonade.
Life Lesson #2
Unless life also gives you sugar and a cup, your lemonades gonna suck.


Aurzel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1853
  • If at first you dont succeed ... kill the b@$tard
Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 04:44:35 pm
what what? i didnt get that



TheBuilder

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 518
  • Yes, I'm [redacted] insane. Your point?
Reply #3 on: January 05, 2010, 04:27:53 am
place the buildings down before the beging text appears and they will be built instantl. i think thats wat he said

Not even death can stop the truly determined.

I told them, "I want to add to the world."
They said, "Then learn how to use the editor."
I asked, "What is the editor?"
They said, "Life."


Siccles

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 170
Reply #4 on: January 05, 2010, 04:38:02 am
big edit: this seems to only work in the training sim, since the textboxes in the full-game dont seem to pause the game



Aurzel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1853
  • If at first you dont succeed ... kill the b@$tard
Reply #5 on: January 05, 2010, 06:04:00 am
yeah i tried to do it, it's impossible in game



TheBuilder

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 518
  • Yes, I'm [redacted] insane. Your point?
Reply #6 on: January 05, 2010, 06:17:27 am
try this, puase the game before the text box appears, use the number keys to place units, then unpause. click away the text, and see wat happens

Not even death can stop the truly determined.

I told them, "I want to add to the world."
They said, "Then learn how to use the editor."
I asked, "What is the editor?"
They said, "Life."


Siccles

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 170
Reply #7 on: January 05, 2010, 06:24:19 am
never mind my last post, thebuilder is right! it works in every single mission (meaning the highscores are totally worthless)



TheBuilder

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 518
  • Yes, I'm [redacted] insane. Your point?
Reply #8 on: January 05, 2010, 06:28:04 am
um siccles, r u talkin about the online simulator or the full game, cuase i just tried my own advice and it didnt work

Not even death can stop the truly determined.

I told them, "I want to add to the world."
They said, "Then learn how to use the editor."
I asked, "What is the editor?"
They said, "Life."


SPIFFEN

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1631
  • NORWAY
Reply #9 on: January 05, 2010, 06:40:00 am
Doesnt work for me , maybe it works on an older version .
If so , the highscores should be form the latest version that didnt have this problem !
( maybe the game works slower on older computers , so this works , the computer i use now is new )
« Last Edit: January 05, 2010, 10:04:11 am by SPIFFEN »

PLZ THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU CALL YOUR TOPIC ! It will make the search work better =)
My maps : http://knucklecracker.com/creeperworld/viewmaps.php?author=SPIFFEN
How to make links


Siccles

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 170
Reply #10 on: January 05, 2010, 07:22:47 am
ive got 314... gimme a sec i gotta make an impossible highscore and give you the link, then you can beleive me

edit: check the crux highscore... beleive me now?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2010, 07:31:37 am by Siccles »



Mrmcdeath

  • Iím gonna live forever, or die trying.
  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 301
Reply #11 on: January 05, 2010, 08:39:03 am
Yea you just have to quickly keep pressing 1 or whatever you want and it lets you start building it before the creeper comes. But you cannot (or I just don't know how.) place them under the text.

Life Lesson #1
When life gives you lemons make lemonade.
Life Lesson #2
Unless life also gives you sugar and a cup, your lemonades gonna suck.


Siccles

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 170
Reply #12 on: January 05, 2010, 09:45:27 am
you can place it under the text, if you pause the game nearly instantly.

This bug could probably be fixed by making the pause button and the 1-0 keys only work after the text is shown.



Aurzel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1853
  • If at first you dont succeed ... kill the b@$tard
Reply #13 on: January 05, 2010, 11:16:51 am
yeah i just managed to do it (though i quit the game before the level finished)
so yeah t needs fixing



knucracker

  • Administrator
  • *****
    • Posts: 11749
Reply #14 on: January 05, 2010, 01:45:46 pm
Fixed in the updated version coming out this week.