hangs at calibrating planetary scanners

NickLucas · 264

NickLucas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 14
on: July 27, 2019, 09:38:43 pm
CW3 is hanging at the calibrating planetary scanners message - not had this before. I tried renaming the xml files in users/youname/ but this made no difference. I'm running on an Imac retina with Mojave. Never had any problems before.



Builder17

  • Community Guild
  • *****
    • Posts: 1085
  • My account picture is from Nitrome Mutiny.
Reply #1 on: July 28, 2019, 04:53:26 am
Please find log file, it can be found using these instructions:

Quote
To access the Library folder:
1. In the Finder, choose Go > Go To Folder.
2. In the Go To Folder dialog, type ‘~/Library’ (the ~ represents current logged in user)
3. Click Go.

After you get there:  /Logs/Unity/Player.log

Put the log file in an attachment:

« Last Edit: July 28, 2019, 06:04:26 am by Builder17 »



NickLucas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 14
Reply #2 on: July 28, 2019, 05:05:26 am
Player.log attached. I was a Cobol programmer for 37 years. When C Sharp came along I took early retirement ! I see that it's chasing me :)



GoodMorning

  • Community Guild
  • *****
    • Posts: 3383
  • (Pusillanimous)
Reply #3 on: July 28, 2019, 05:50:40 am
It appears from the log that the map-file you were opening is corrupted.

If it was a CS map, you can probably just delete the file and re-download it.

A narrative is a lightly-marked path to another reality.


Builder17

  • Community Guild
  • *****
    • Posts: 1085
  • My account picture is from Nitrome Mutiny.
Reply #4 on: July 28, 2019, 06:15:11 am
Could you tell what map you tried to open or if it happens with multiple maps?



NickLucas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 14
Reply #5 on: July 28, 2019, 06:28:11 am
It's with any Colonial Space maps. Other zones load ok. I do tend to delete maps I struggle with from colonialspace/maps but I've been doing that for many years.
I've just tried removing the log file and starting from scratch to reduce the log file size.  This is attached. I then looked in the maps folder and the map file looks like it's encountered a sockets problem somewhere along the line. I think that's getting us closer - no data to generate the map !



NickLucas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 14
Reply #6 on: July 28, 2019, 06:44:05 am
Hmmm. The Network preferences had the SOCKS proxy ticked. I unticked it, and removed a faulty map. It now loads correctly ! Restarting the machine re-ticks the proxy. I don't believe this is in anyway connected to CW. I think there's something dodgy elsewhere. I hope this might help anyone else with this issue. I'll have a dig around to try and find what's ticking the proxies box in Network Preferences ==> Advanced. Many thanks for your help.



NickLucas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 14
Reply #7 on: July 28, 2019, 06:58:26 am
I used etrecheck and there were a couple of daemons that I've removed. A restart now leaves the sockets proxies as unticked. I hope this helps anyone else with this ! There's a very thin line between what you want to do with a computer that's legitimate and things that might cause something dodgy to be installed. Lesson learnt :)



Karsten75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 6833
Reply #8 on: July 28, 2019, 09:08:53 am
I see this is the issue:

Platform assembly: /Applications/CW3.app/Contents/Resources/Data/Managed/Mono.Security.dll (this message is harmless)
ERROR building certificate chain: System.ArgumentException: certificate ---> System.Security.Cryptography.CryptographicException: Unsupported hash algorithm: 1.2.840.113549.1.1.12


We've seen it before on Mac, unfortunately it's rare. I'll alert knucracker and perchance his recollections are more clear than mine.  Alternatively, perform a search, both here and globally for this "ERROR building certificate chain:" or this " System.Security.Cryptography.CryptographicException: Unsupported hash algorithm:"

"Any leftover cabbage can and will be mixed with mayo"
   - Cole's Law