Screenshots and Videos

knucracker · 19639

knucracker

  • Administrator
  • *****
    • Posts: 11752
on: September 10, 2016, 03:46:15 pm
The gag order on alpha/beta testers is no more.  So if you would like to see a video or screenshot of anything from any tester, preview user, or me. This is a place to request and reply.... at least until the general release.

I'll start with a screenshot of an Inception mission contribution by planetfall.  Has some nice PRPL controlled units...




The_Mell

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 29
Reply #1 on: September 10, 2016, 04:42:26 pm
Wohoo!
All aboard the hype train!  8)


Request:
Could someone please share some insight into ship editor and ship costs?
Like an empty hull, it with some weapons and it full fitted with expensive gear maybe..?

"Fairies Wear Boots" - Black Sabbath


Ninja

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 169
Reply #2 on: September 10, 2016, 04:58:34 pm
Would be excited to see what Teknotiss comes up with for this game. I loved his maps in CW3 with the giant slog through hundreds of layers of creeper. :)

so... Screenshots of some of his custom maps (if he has any) ? :D



Karsten75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 6845
Reply #3 on: September 10, 2016, 05:11:41 pm
Here is an old screenshot from September last year (2015) of some ships on a teknotiss map

If I remember, they took about 15 minutes to build out! :)


"Any leftover cabbage can and will be mixed with mayo"
   - Cole's Law


Ninja

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 169
Reply #4 on: September 10, 2016, 05:25:04 pm
Here is an old screenshot from September last year (2015) of some ships on a teknotiss map

If I remember, they took about 15 minutes to build out! :)
Holy crud....

I'm afraid those are too amazing.

I'll be shutting down now.



Karsten75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 6845
Reply #5 on: September 10, 2016, 05:45:29 pm
Particle fight - somewhere in the Story missions:

"Any leftover cabbage can and will be mixed with mayo"
   - Cole's Law


Ninja

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 169
Reply #6 on: September 10, 2016, 06:07:19 pm
Particle fight - somewhere in the Story missions:
Holy crud Karsten you really want me to get this game don't you? lol



Nicant

  • Community Guild
  • *****
    • Posts: 430
  • Personal Text
Reply #7 on: September 10, 2016, 10:44:29 pm
Is it possible to have more than 1 HQ ship?
Edit: Also, how big can you make a map? What are the max width and length?
« Last Edit: September 10, 2016, 10:48:04 pm by Nicant »

CW4 hype!!


planetfall

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1046
  • In radians may we find vectory!
Reply #8 on: September 10, 2016, 11:16:56 pm
Edit: Also, how big can you make a map? What are the max width and length?

999x999.

I can't fit the entire width or height on my monitor, so let me demonstrate...
Here is a 999x999 map with one of each of the built-in ships stuck in the bottom right corner. That big rectangle ship shows the largest size allowed for a ship.
The bottom left ship with 3 MK7's is called Varro. Keep that ship in mind...


Here's that map zoomed out all the way...


Now 999 is so wide that there isn't a way for me to directly show those ships while the left edge of the map is visible. But the editor panel doesn't quite reach the edge of the game window, and if you magnify the screenshot, you will see a one-pixel-wide strip that's a different color from the surrounding space, with nothing above it.


That's the leftmost MK7 on Varro.

The nap takers are here to... welp.

"Build a ladder to the moon" is simple as a sentence, but actually doing it is not.


Nicant

  • Community Guild
  • *****
    • Posts: 430
  • Personal Text
Reply #9 on: September 10, 2016, 11:29:20 pm
(click to show/hide)

Wow, that is a big map. Lots of opportunities with maps that large! Thanks for sharing!
Edit: I put the quote in a spoiler so there can be less wasted space. :)
« Last Edit: September 12, 2016, 06:47:34 am by Nicant »

CW4 hype!!


knucracker

  • Administrator
  • *****
    • Posts: 11752
Reply #10 on: September 11, 2016, 03:18:51 pm
The limit is actually 500x500.  I'm a bit embarrassed to admit that's a bug that was fixed about 2 minutes ago... after I read these messages earlier today.  I wasn't enforcing the restriction on the map creation page.  It was limited to 3 characters, not 500 like it should be.

That said, 500x500 is already too large for most maps. It's a large area and I don't think I've ever even played on a map that large.



Ninja

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 169
Reply #11 on: September 11, 2016, 04:18:27 pm
The limit is actually 500x500.  I'm a bit embarrassed to admit that's a bug that was fixed about 2 minutes ago... after I read these messages earlier today.  I wasn't enforcing the restriction on the map creation page.  It was limited to 3 characters, not 500 like it should be.

That said, 500x500 is already too large for most maps. It's a large area and I don't think I've ever even played on a map that large.
Aw man. Can't you just add a warning that maps larger than 500x500 aren't included in the specifications listed on Steam? (AKA they'll require a better machine) lol



GoodMorning

  • Community Guild
  • *****
    • Posts: 3389
  • (Pusillanimous)
Reply #12 on: September 11, 2016, 11:40:57 pm
A bad plan for exchange maps. If it's available, it will be used, meaning serious lag issues for some. Such a split is bad. Better to have a smaller cap that almost everyone can run, and let this induce creativity within that framework.

Imagine CW3 on a 1000x1000 map. It doesn't really gain much in enjoyability over a 250x250, which is within the limit.

500x500 looks like plenty of potential. And if it isn't, it can be changed when the other way has been tried. It will be easy to adjust the cap upward, hard to change it downward.

My (somewhat specialised) questions:

Will PRPL have the capacity for script-global or map-global variables? Multi-Core scripting in CRPL often needed the same value or list, and recalculation is inefficient. List passing for references works, but is a clumsy workaround. Also, is there an option in-editor to display UIDs (or the new equivalent)?

A narrative is a lightly-marked path to another reality.


Ninja

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 169
Reply #13 on: September 12, 2016, 12:09:23 am
A bad plan for exchange maps. If it's available, it will be used, meaning serious lag issues for some. Such a split is bad. Better to have a smaller cap that almost everyone can run, and let this induce creativity within that framework.

Imagine CW3 on a 1000x1000 map. It doesn't really gain much in enjoyability over a 250x250, which is within the limit.

500x500 looks like plenty of potential. And if it isn't, it can be changed when the other way has been tried. It will be easy to adjust the cap upward, hard to change it downward.
Hm, fair points. I do wish that perhaps there could be some way that only 500x500 and below maps could be uploaded, but up to 999x999 maps could be created. However, I suspect that may be getting a bit too complicated to do, so I'll just let V decide what he wants to do.



Tjgalon

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 277
Reply #14 on: September 12, 2016, 01:49:27 am
I have no idea what happening in these images, I am excited to try though, lol.