Moving City Bug

Kamron3 · 6876

Kamron3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1722
on: April 13, 2010, 08:12:13 am
Quote
Moving the city
If you want to move the city you just have to pause the game and move the city before the opening message arrives.

This bug should really be removed.
#11 - sqaz - 03/20/2010 - 02:19

This was made on this map: http://knucklecracker.com/creeperworld/mapcomments.php?id=1100&page=

1) This bug has been around for a while...
2) It's bugging me that people can move an un-movable city... this can really kill some maps.
3) Sqaz has decided that he doesn't want to tell virgil.

No ban needed... but Sqaz that was a really un-cool thing to do.

_k
« Last Edit: April 13, 2010, 05:08:57 pm by Kamron3 »



SPIFFEN

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1631
  • NORWAY
Reply #1 on: April 13, 2010, 08:20:17 am
I've tryed that bug , but i cant do it .
So there might be something else to corrupt the game in an way .
I thought all of the pause bugs where fixed ,
after the new v.
As i remember , there was possibel to build towers too .

So my guess is that there is an hack that makes the game work as an old v .

PLZ THINK ABOUT WHAT YOU CALL YOUR TOPIC ! It will make the search work better =)
My maps : http://knucklecracker.com/creeperworld/viewmaps.php?author=SPIFFEN
How to make links


Kamron3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1722
Reply #2 on: April 13, 2010, 08:22:15 am
I thought so, too, but apparently it isn't fixed as Sqaz has done it recently. And he has gotten impossible scores...

He's done it on all of my maps that have few totems and space to land an Odin City near by.

_k



Daos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 37
Reply #3 on: April 13, 2010, 09:00:31 am
I tried that pause bug today after we talked about it. It still works.


Sqaz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1212
Reply #4 on: April 13, 2010, 09:03:23 am
I thought everyone knew about this bug, it isn't that I've never said it was there (and I even wasn't the one that found that bug).

And about the banning from the forum, I think that a moderator who closes (Special OPS hurt and heal) and re-opens (Corrupt a wish) threads without any reason, should be banned himself  ;D

And what's so hard about placing 2 totems on a map.



kwinse

  • Full Member
  • ***
    • Posts: 131
Reply #5 on: April 13, 2010, 12:23:48 pm
And what's so hard about placing 2 totems on a map.
Because maps shouldn't have to be designed around what is very obviously a bug. Nor should people think it's okay to use said bug.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2010, 12:26:05 pm by kwinse »



Daos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 37
Reply #6 on: April 13, 2010, 01:43:32 pm
well, it is a way to secure a certain limit to the highscores, but the gameexperience is still flawed. If I use "not moving", then I want to see the ship stuck in a particular place to fight of the creeper from that place.


Xylnalya

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 63
Reply #7 on: April 13, 2010, 01:46:36 pm
I agree with both Daos and Kamron here, that while the bug is there it shouldn't be used - especially for highscore means - and get fixed sooner or later. Though a ban ... o_O'' Nah.
(Just wipe all his scores everywhere, search the DB for 'Sqaz' - That'll hurt him more :3)



Sqaz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1212
Reply #8 on: April 13, 2010, 02:08:53 pm
Xyl, I officially hate you ;D

PS: I'm not the only one who uses that cheat/exploit



knucracker

  • Administrator
  • *****
    • Posts: 11757
Reply #9 on: April 13, 2010, 03:27:51 pm
So let me finally say a thing or two about this bug.
It kinda goes without saying but the bug only affects custom maps that use the city locking option.  The ability to lock the city was only added 'recently' to begin with, and that is when this bug showed up.

It is a bug, and I will try to get it fixed.  Fixing it isn't the problem, though.  Once fixed old versions still have the bug.  So I have to make it so that to post a score you have to have the new version (to force people to use the new version).  I can and probably will do this....  But it can be an inconvenience for players who aren't avid followers of the website.




Kamron3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1722
Reply #10 on: April 13, 2010, 03:39:37 pm
Xyl, I officially hate you ;D

PS: I'm not the only one who uses that cheat/exploit


Yes, but you didn't bother to even post here on the forums. Other people who "knew" usually aren't active forum members.

I still believe that Sqaz should have a ban from the forums, as with anyone else that is found to have used the bug and is an active member of the forums.

_k
« Last Edit: April 13, 2010, 03:45:02 pm by Kamron3 »



Kamron3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1722
Reply #11 on: April 13, 2010, 03:46:50 pm
I thought everyone knew about this bug, it isn't that I've never said it was there (and I even wasn't the one that found that bug).

And about the banning from the forum, I think that a moderator who closes (Special OPS hurt and heal) and re-opens (Corrupt a wish) threads without any reason, should be banned himself  ;D

And what's so hard about placing 2 totems on a map.

Special OPS Hurt & Heal was completed.
Corrupt a Wish could continue without anything impeding it. Plus, it's the longest thread in the game and will eventually get back on topic :)

The reason why I only placed ONE totem on the map is because I wanted it that way. I also LOCKED THE CITY for a reason!

Sqaz doesnt need to be banned, but it was really uncool that he did that.


Virgil: If you could, please remove all the scores from the Tribon Series Pt 2 Map except for mine.

_k
« Last Edit: April 13, 2010, 05:10:16 pm by Kamron3 »



Daos

  • Jr. Member
  • **
    • Posts: 37
Reply #12 on: April 13, 2010, 04:23:26 pm
Uh... are you asking Virgil to edit the database for a map that only consists of building a line from point A to point B? And maybe for all other maps, that had the space to move the locked city towards a place that was not intended by the creator?


Kamron3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
    • Posts: 1722
Reply #13 on: April 13, 2010, 04:40:09 pm
Yes.

I dont want cheat scores on my map, even if it is just a few hundred ;(


_k



Karsten75

  • Hero Member
  • *****
    • Posts: 6854
Reply #14 on: April 13, 2010, 09:51:44 pm
Xyl, I officially hate you ;D

PS: I'm not the only one who uses that cheat/exploit


Yes, but you didn't bother to even post here on the forums. Other people who "knew" usually aren't active forum members.

I still believe that Sqaz should have a ban from the forums, as with anyone else that is found to have used the bug and is an active member of the forums.

_k

Hmm, I thought I posted about this before (at least once). A lot of people, including me knows about the bug. I'm pretty sure Virgil knows about the bug.

Banning someone from the forums for *not* talking about the bug in the forums seems counter productive. Or even banning people from the forums when their behavior was not in the forums. What will you do with people who have used the bug and are not forum members? Or will you merely select some forum members and ban them?

I trust Virgil has a lighter finger on the ban trigger and a more fair sense of justice.

'If you want to live a happy life, tie it to a goal, not to people or things.'

Albert Einstein
(1879-1955)