Knuckle Cracker

Knuckle Cracker => Support => Topic started by: Ebon Heart on June 03, 2011, 09:15:22 pm

Title: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 03, 2011, 09:15:22 pm
These stupid lines keep showing up now whenever I play creeper world 1... why? They assault every OCD fiber of my being! Does anyone know how to get rid of them? btw, if anyone's wondering about the dramatic title... it's cw1 gameplay discussion, you wouldn't be reading this otherwise.
EDIT: changed title since this topic is now under suggestions.
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: crazyone76 on June 04, 2011, 04:11:30 am
reinstal?
stalk virgil?
reinstal?
uninstal?
cry?
beg?
smash your pc?
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: CJY101 on June 04, 2011, 04:39:30 am
These stupid lines keep showing up now whenever I play creeper world 1... why? They assault every OCD fiber of my being! Does anyone know how to get rid of them? btw, if anyone's wondering about the dramatic title... it's cw1 gameplay discussion, you wouldn't be reading this otherwise.

I guess.
Because you have updated version of adobe air.
Will lead to this problem.
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: UpperKEES on June 04, 2011, 05:11:42 am
it's cw1 gameplay discussion

You could have posted in the appropriate board, called Support.

you wouldn't be reading this otherwise.

Ever noticed this functionality (http://knucklecracker.com/forums/index.php?action=unread)?

Because you have updated version of adobe air.
Will lead to this problem.

Hmmm, that isn't good news. Is this your own experience, or did you read something at the Adobe forums?
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: CJY101 on June 04, 2011, 08:30:18 am
Hmmm, that isn't good news. Is this your own experience, or did you read something at the Adobe forums?

My idea is.
This problem did not happen.
(so the game itself is not a problem.)
Only install the adobe air will affect the game.
This is necessary to install is not it?

Reasonable guess   ???
Adobe air update causes problems.
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: UpperKEES on June 04, 2011, 10:01:44 am
Only install the adobe air will affect the game.
This is necessary to install is not it?

Adobe AIR itself is necessary, but you don't particularly need the latest update.

This problem did not happen.

You mean it didn't happen before you installed the latest Adobe AIR update? So it works fine with the version of Adobe AIR that comes with CW1?
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 04, 2011, 11:24:45 am
I'm not sure.... is there a way to revert back to the last version of Adobe AIR? it does sound like that's the problem... and yes, this is my game. And it's slowly stealing my sanity. Also, I suppose this should have been in support.
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: knucracker on June 04, 2011, 11:45:58 am
What OS are you on?  And did you only start seeing this after an upgrade of adobe air?  It appears to be a bitmap rendering problem that isn't affecting anything other that just the bitmaps.  If this is the case, you might also see the lines in other parts of the user interface (like the chronom maps, or maybe even the main menu background?)

Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: CJY101 on June 04, 2011, 12:23:20 pm
I do not understand , sorry.

My English is not good enough.

I went to try to update Adobe AIR 2.6
(creeper world 2 demo, Use Adobe AIR 2.6)

Lead lines appear.

Only on maps and map editor appears.


use windows xp
Title: Re: The lines.... why?! Why the lines?
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 04, 2011, 12:28:34 pm
It's only on the terrain of maps... not on units, or the menu. But any map, I get those lines. And I think it was Adobe Air... but I just downgraded Adobe Air and they didn't go away.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: knucracker on June 04, 2011, 01:04:00 pm
When did you first notice these lines?  I'm trying to correlate their appearance with something that changed.

I just tried CW1 under AIR 1.5.3 and air 2.6.0 on windows XP but don't see any lines.  I assume that you see these lines when running in a window and full screen?
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: ontheworld on June 04, 2011, 02:17:28 pm
I have adobe 2.6, using windows XP, and don't get them. It must be something else...
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: knucracker on June 04, 2011, 02:29:24 pm
It could be some weird interaction between certain graphics cards/ drivers and recent AIR releases.  They have been adding acceleration support, so this could have something to do with it.  Maybe making sure that the graphics drivers are up to date would resolve the issue.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 04, 2011, 03:03:53 pm
I have no idea, I've tried downgrading adobe air, window size has no effect on it... and I'd try re-installing cw1, but it appears as though I've lost my key.... I still have my cw2 key though. odd.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: knucracker on June 04, 2011, 03:10:51 pm
When you uninstall and reinstall CW (1 or 2) your gameData.dat and your key remain in place and don't get uninstalled.  If you switched users or something like that, you could appear to lose access to the key.

You can mail me with any purchase info you used (like your email address) and I can look up your key and send it to you.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Grauniad on June 04, 2011, 04:21:01 pm
I would suggest trying to install new(er) drivers for your graphics card.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 04, 2011, 04:32:40 pm
the thing I don't get though is, that's never happened before.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Echo51 on June 05, 2011, 03:41:24 am
Have you tried resizing the window to a different size?
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 05, 2011, 10:13:43 am
it happens on any size. Full screen, or... well, tiny I guess.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: UpperKEES on June 05, 2011, 04:54:41 pm
Just try to think what you've changed before you first noticed. Did you install any updates? Like the latest Flash Player? There must be something common when this happens on the systems of several people.

It's also remarkable that these lines appear exactly every 10 pixels; in between the terrain blocks....
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 09, 2011, 12:11:15 pm
it kind of helps with map editing. lol. But when playing the actual game, they're really annoying.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: pixlepix on June 09, 2011, 08:15:46 pm
Could it have something to do with CW2? Did you play cw1 after you installed cw2 without lines
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 09, 2011, 10:32:03 pm
Hmmm... Might be right actually. It just started doing that after cw2.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: J on June 10, 2011, 10:06:06 am
I have no problems and I have CW2 installed
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 12, 2011, 06:31:22 pm
I've kinda gotten used to it now, and with cw2 out, I don't play cw1 that much any more.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: UpperKEES on June 13, 2011, 04:50:14 pm
I noticed in this picture you posted that the lines only seem to appear on certain elevation levels and not everywhere on the screen:

(http://knucklecracker.com/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=3953.0;attach=4446;image)
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 13, 2011, 04:52:45 pm
..... you're right! I didn't even notice that! maybe it's the background image?
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: UpperKEES on June 13, 2011, 04:56:35 pm
I haven't found an explanation yet, but Virgil may know....

Does this happen for more maps? Or with different window sizes? Try to pay attention to some details please. Do the lines ever cover the green projection area by the collectors? Do the lines ever cover the Creeper?
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: thepenguin on June 13, 2011, 05:06:27 pm
I noticed in this picture you posted that the lines only seem to appear on certain elevation levels and not everywhere on the screen:

(http://knucklecracker.com/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=3953.0;attach=4446;image)

but then how could someone explain this
(http://knucklecracker.com/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=7113.0;attach=4254)
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 13, 2011, 05:14:01 pm
I haven't found an explanation yet, but Virgil may know....

Does this happen for more maps? Or with different window sizes? Try to pay attention to some details please. Do the lines ever cover the green projection area by the collectors? Do the lines ever cover the Creeper?
It happens with every map I play, and on any window size. It covers the green projection areas, creeper, but not buildings... They just seem to be a part of the terrain. This should give you an idea of what it looks like.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Grauniad on June 13, 2011, 05:32:51 pm
Tell us what you have done. We told you early on to try and uninstall AIR and reinstall it, to check for updates to video drivers, or to rollback video drivers if you applied a recent update.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 13, 2011, 05:42:21 pm
Tell us what you have done. We told you early on to try and uninstall AIR and reinstall it, to check for updates to video drivers, or to rollback video drivers if you applied a recent update.
I downgraded AIR, and reinstalled cw1, I can't figure out what the problem is.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Grauniad on June 13, 2011, 05:44:04 pm
Video drivers?
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 14, 2011, 08:08:08 am
I've tried everything I can think of at this point... they're just sorta there. And I don't really notice them anymore.... plus, they kinda help at times.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: CobraKill on June 14, 2011, 08:14:55 am
Wait!? I think I may no the problem or atleast point us in the right direction. Virgil or anyone, how are map's terrain saved? I remeber as XML  or a zipped up some sort of file. Anyways what if it's his computer is having a problem loading it or this some corrupt file. Try redownloading it. Maybe one the gameloading files is corrupted or missing something
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: thepenguin on June 14, 2011, 08:49:35 am
Wait!? I think I may no the problem or atleast point us in the right direction. Virgil or anyone, how are map's terrain saved? I remeber as XML  or a zipped up some sort of file. Anyways what if it's his computer is having a problem loading it or this some corrupt file. Try redownloading it. Maybe one the gameloading files is corrupted or missing something

the background images are most likely stored in the main.swf file, Base 64-encoded
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: CobraKill on June 14, 2011, 08:54:37 am
what if when downloaded from the website somethings wrong with it (ie Hacked, Corrupted)
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: thepenguin on June 14, 2011, 09:21:38 am
just get a patch, and patch it :P

http://knucklecracker.com/creeperworld/patches.php
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: CobraKill on June 14, 2011, 09:45:35 am
Now I maen if the patch itself is broken
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: ontheworld on June 14, 2011, 10:05:05 am
Now I maen if the patch itself is broken

So you're saying the patch itself has a corrupt file? That would be very strange, as I don't have any lines with the latest patch...
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 14, 2011, 01:37:17 pm
I repatched the game, no good. It was a good thought though... and it is probably something with the terrain.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: UpperKEES on June 14, 2011, 03:44:26 pm
Custom backgrounds are saved in the .cwm file, so every map file on your computer would have to be corrupt, which is very unlikely. It must be something in the rendering.

Did you recently update your flash player? I know I got prompted....
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: knucracker on June 14, 2011, 03:58:12 pm
My only guess is that it has to do with the latest 3d acceleration in flash/AIR and something very peculiar about the specific graphics card and the specific graphics drivers in place.  An update (which windows update can do) of the graphics drivers could have triggered this.   CW1 has layers of transparent sprites for things like the terrain edges, creeper, etc.  These transparent sprites would be things that flash would try to accelerate (to make the alpha blending faster).
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Blaze on June 14, 2011, 08:36:45 pm
I have version 2.6.0.19140 and did not have the problem.

Updated to the latest version, 2.7.0.19480 and still do not have the lines.

So it can't be Air can it? Of course my old desktop has an old Chipset for a Graphics card, so it may not have the proper capabilities to use the latest features from Air causing me to not see any lines.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 14, 2011, 09:10:28 pm
I have no idea... at this point, I don't really care. I'm starting to think it'd look really weird without the lines.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Eric on June 17, 2011, 07:47:58 am
about a year ago there was a problem with air,an updated version was causing the game to run in slow motion, some one had posted a way to "down grade". I think it required uninstalling air then reinstalling the older version
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on June 17, 2011, 09:16:10 am
about a year ago there was a problem with air,an updated version was causing the game to run in slow motion, some one had posted a way to "down grade". I think it required uninstalling air then reinstalling the older version
That's exactly what I did. I uninstalled it, then installed the last version from the site. It still does it.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: UpperKEES on November 19, 2011, 07:09:53 am
Sorry for bumping this topic, but apparently more players are suffering from the lines in CW1, see the screenshots in this post (http://knucklecracker.com/forums/index.php?topic=3953.msg59067#msg59067).

I wonder if a new CW1 build would solve this....
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: knucracker on November 19, 2011, 10:24:27 am
It would be interesting to see if anyone who sees these lines also sees them in any one of the flash games like CW:US...  Also, I assume that anyone who has these lines also has the latest version of Adobe AIR installed.  The lines definitely look like some sort of issue between flash/AIR and a particular graphics card or graphics driver.  So anything that changes one of those variables might shed some light on the problem.
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: J on November 19, 2011, 11:01:52 am
Have latest version of air, no problems in CW1 and CW:US
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: Ebon Heart on November 19, 2011, 11:35:34 am
I haven't even played cw1 since I got my new laptop. (lost my key)... Actually, take that back. I've played cw:US and stuff. And no lines anymore. :D
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: CobraKill on November 19, 2011, 12:19:18 pm
Just played CW1 and there were no lines on anything with AIR3

(Rule some stuff out)
GPU:NVIDIA Quadro FX1500
Drivers: 8.17.12.7589
Title: Re: Annoying lines appear when I play cw1 now.
Post by: CJY101 on November 27, 2011, 11:49:38 am
Use NVIDA GeForce FX 5200