Main Menu

Backup software

Started by knucracker, November 19, 2013, 01:11:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

knucracker

For reasons known only to microsoft, the system backup tools available in windows 7 have basically disappeared in windows 8.1.  There is a thing called File History but it is a pale shadow of what you had in windows 7.

Now, I tend to back up in several different ways.  One of those ways was with an entire system image of my main development drive to a NAS.  I even used it every now and then to restore single files I had lost.  This kind of full system automated backup is no longer an option in windows 8.1 from what I can see.

So, what software would you use instead?  Here's one rundown I found, but I have no experience with any of them.
http://www.techradar.com/us/news/software/applications/best-free-backup-software-11-programs-we-recommend-1137924

asmussen

Oh, wow, that sucks. I currently do the same sort of whole system backup you described onto my file server, and I even had to completely restore my system from it after a hardware failure once, so I really don't care for the idea of not having those tools. Of course, I don't have any intention to upgrade past Windows 7 for a while yet, so I guess it's sort of a moot point for now, but that's definitely good information to have at such time as I ever decide to upgrade.
Shawn Asmussen

Grauniad

Here's what I have:

1. The last 3TB external drive I bought (forgot the brand) came with some backup software that works better then MS Backup which is broken on large drives anyway.

2. Acronis makes very good recovery images. I make one when I'm happy my install is "just so" and after I install expensive pieces of software such as Photoshop.

3. My Windows Home server still backs up everything nightly.

After that it's the cloud for me.

4. I still have the tail-end of my Carbonite subscription, but I'm phasing it out.